• Join Home Gardening Forum

Getting the right "smoke"

45 ACP

Planting Zone
8B
I love to grill just about anything, but I am fairly new to smoking. I've got a basic smoker pit and over the last month I've done 2 smokes. First one was a 12 lb brisket and rack of spare ribs and it turned out GREAT! Everyone loved it. Second time did 2 racks of ribs and the smoke taste was overbearing. Waayyy too smokey.

So I've found that you want a thin blue smoke opposed to thick white smoke. My question is, how do you achieve the thin blue smoke? Is there a trick or method of adding the logs/chips properly?

I used hickory chunks from Kroger on both of my smokes. Soaked them in water for a while while I made my fire. Then when the fire died down to coals I started adding wood chunks here and there to begin smoking. I kept the temp between 225 - 250. Not sure what I did differently but like I said one smoke turned out great and the other way too smokey.

Any advice or tips? Thanks in advance.

w_r_ranch

Master Gardener
Administrator
Plus Member
Planting Zone
8b
When I smoke, I never put my meat on until I have a clear blue smoke and the temperature of the smoker's is stabilized at 225 degrees for at least 30 minutes...

Some of my first thoughts revolve around the position of your intake & exhaust vents... Exhaust vents should always be fully open. The intake vent(s) are used to control the pit's temperature, these are the only ones that you should be adjusting.

Was there any bark on the wood you were using? Bark will definitely add to your problem unless you use a pre-burner to make coals (which is what I do - see attached photo).

Coals.jpg

Was the wood you used the same wood for both of your cooks (if so, this is a mute point)??? If not, you mak have gotten a hold of some 'green' wood.