• Join Home Gardening Forum

HomeBrew/Wine Anyone?

Lost in mn

Planting Zone
Anyone into Home brewing of wine or beer? I have been doing the Homebrew thing for about 25 years now. I got away from 6 gallon batches a few years ago in lieu all grain brewing and some industrial type primaries and fermenters.
When we do a batch now it's anywhere from 10-23 gallons depending on what it is. I specialize in all grain dark beers and berry wines.
In addition to home brew I also grow my own berries/fruit for wine and Hops for beer.

The berry wines are very sweet and when cooked down they are an awesome addition to sauces and for bbq sauces and glazes.

Lost in mn

Planting Zone

Irish Winter Wheat Stout Ale!

Berry patch pics coming soon Harvest in 2 weeks!!!!

I have been using P.E.T bottles exclusively now for several years they are much easier to clean, seal and move around.

Cody

Planting Zone
8a
I've been homebrewing for a couple years now. Started out very innocent with a turkey frier and a extract kit. It quickly turned into all grain,3keggles,plate chiller and tons of other stuff. Built my own fermentation chamber and even brewed a lager. I started out kegging and here recently my kegerator took a dump on me. I HATE BOTTLING!!

Cody

Planting Zone
8a
Oh, I also made 5 gal. of Cabernet Sauvinon.
I almost forgot! We also made 3 gal. of mead that would catch your throat on fire. lol. The most high octane stuff I've ever had.

Lost in mn

Planting Zone
Nice set up! Mead is awesome stuff. Did you make a dry mead or sweet mead? How long did you age it? I have some Dry Mead I have been aging for about 60 months now. I am anxious to try it this fall. I am going to be getting my brewing set up back up and running this fall. I have had it all apart since we had the fire here. Bottling sucks I agree but we don't drink it fast enough for kegging. I end up giving most of it away.