• Join Home Gardening Forum

Mr Yan 2020 - New Veg Garden in Michigan

M

Mr_Yan

OK this year I am starting a new garden at a new house.

Limitations
  • Don't close on the house until early May - this is also about the same date as the last frost.
  • Putting limited money into the new garden - I want to save money for my family and show that a garden does not have to result in a "$64 tomato".
  • Michigan is under a strict "shelter in place" order and gardening / garden shops were explicitly called out and deemed non-essential by the Governor.
Things I have going for me that other newbees won't
  • I have about 10 years experience in a very similar climate.
  • I have most / all the tools I will need.
  • I have a seed pack collection which will nearly eliminate my need to buy many seeds.
  • Word is the previous owner has had a garden set up on the property before - for about the last 3 decades.
So far I have bought a few packs of seeds and a Jiffy brand starting flat with peat-pots in it. I am starting a few plants indoor but not many as I don't have much space or materials now and will have to move them.

Today I am starting these seeds:
  • 3 Lacinato "Dino" kale
  • 3 Red Russian "Commie" Kale
  • 6 Spinach - Monstrueux de Viroflay
  • 4 Brussles Sprouts
  • 10 tomatoes
  • 9 bell peppers
  • 5 Italian frying peppers
Season to date I have spent $14.
Season to date I have harvested nothing.

M

Mr_Yan

For my garden beds I am planning on raised beds and think I will use corrugated galvanized metal again.

I like the looks of this style galvanized beds used in this YouTube vid

The soil here is generally good and I don't think I need tall raised beds again. The raised beds define the garden area and walkways and I find to be much easier to maintain than in-ground style.