• Join Home Gardening Forum

Questions Questions Questions

P

Phins Fan

Ive been growing for a few years now (6 actually) and typically have decent luck but always have some die out or not take off at all so I have a few ?'s for the more experienced gardener. When I made the new garden for this year I started with 100# of Miracle Grow planters soil, 8 40# bags of manure, and 2 50# bags of peat moss before I tilled about 6" deep. I than built mounds to grow everything on and put weed guard over them as I HATE weeding. A little white rock for color/ambiance. Here goes:

Yellow (summer) squash:

What would cause the plant on the right to "mold"? I have had this happen a couple of seasons and still get crops from those plants but they typically die off sooner that the others.

Tomatoes:

Is there a feeding regimen For the plants? ive tried them a few seasons and have never gotten as far as I am this year. they typically die off before flowering.

Cucumber:

(Pictured on the right side) I have a trellace of leftover fencing that is about 1 foot off the ground. The vines have already filled up the space I had available and still growing. Woild I kill the plant if I cut the vines to install a taller trellace?

I appreciate any feedback and help as I enjoy gardening and the fruits of my labor.

S

sreece

I'm addressing only your question about the cucumbers. Why don't you install a taller trellis right next to the one already in place? Your cucumbers would not be happy being cut off from their current trellis in order to install a new one!

P

Phins Fan

Install a taller 1 on top of the current? I was afraid they would start to grow in between and I wouldn't be able to get at them when its time to crop

S

sreece

I often grow my cucumbers in a 4 ft wide bed with 2 rows of trellising (wide enough mesh to reach through) and I have no problem harvesting them. Hope that gives you a good idea of a way to resolve the problem.

finkikin

Planting Zone
8B